Secondary to the export grid
Tool guides
What each tool in the index does, who a cited source says it is for, the recorded price, and the pros and cons already in the notes. The export grid stays the record for which plan publishes SCORM, xAPI, and cmi5.
How we rate ease
Each guide copies one published ease score and shows it in that site’s own units. Checked 16 Oct 2026. The order is G2 Ease of Use (out of 10), then Capterra Ease of use (out of 5), then TrustRadius usability, then Software Advice or GetApp (out of 5) when the earlier pages are missing or blocked. A score out of 5 is doubled onto a 10-point scale. Easy is 8.5 or higher. Moderate is 7.0 up to 8.5. Steep is under 7.0. A score with fewer than 10 reviews stays Not rated and is excluded from the ease tier. Not rated also covers products those sites did not score.
Storyline 360 and Rise 360 show the Articulate 360 suite score, and the guide says so. Frontline stays Not rated because no separate Frontline score was found. This pass: 15 Easy, 2 Moderate, 1 Steep, 11 Not rated. Prices are copied from the index, including quote-only and uncertain rows.
29 of 29 guides
ActivePresenter
$249 once
Screen recording · Easy · Published price
Software Advice ease of use 4.55/5 (67 reviews). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Perpetual-license screen recorder and authoring tool. Standard and Pro both list SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, and xAPI. The price is one-time, per machine.
Adapt Authoring Tool
$0 + hosting
Open source · Not rated · Free license
Open-source responsive authoring (GPL-3). The software is free. You host it, or you pay someone to. SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, and xAPI are the documented outputs.
Adobe Captivate
$39.99/mo annual
Authoring · Steep · Uncertain price
G2 ease of use 6.8/10 (170 responses). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Adobe’s authoring subscription, covering the current Captivate app and Captivate Classic. A paid subscription is the export gate. cmi5 is not in Adobe’s published standard list.
Articulate Frontline
Not included
Not an LMS export · Not rated · Published price
Articulate’s lower-priced, credit-based product for turning source material into training kits. It is in this index because buyers confuse it with 360 AI. It does not publish SCORM packages.
Articulate Rise 360
$1,449/seat/yr
Browser authoring · Easy · Published price
G2 ease of use 8.9/10 (137 responses). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Browser authoring for responsive, block-based courses. It ships in the same Articulate 360 AI seat as Storyline. There is no cheaper Rise-only export plan on the current public price list.
Articulate Storyline 360
$1,449/seat/yr
Desktop authoring · Easy · Published price
G2 ease of use 8.9/10 (137 responses). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Windows desktop authoring for custom interactions, software simulations, and graded questions. On the current price list it is part of Articulate 360 AI, not a separate SKU.
Camtasia
$179.88/yr
Screen recording · Easy · Published price
G2 ease of use 9.0/10 (1,351 responses). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Screen recorder and editor. Quizzes and SCORM export are on the Essentials plan, not the watermarked Starter plan. TechSmith says scores can reach an LMS gradebook. The SCORM edition is not named.
Chameleon Creator
$2,880/yr
Authoring · Not rated · Published price
Scenario and interactive-module authoring sold in two-creator bundles. SCORM export is on every published plan. The vendor names SCORM 2004 3rd and 4th edition. Their “SCORM 2.2” label is not a real SCORM version.
Coassemble
See pricing page
Authoring · Easy · Quote only
GetApp ease of use 4.6/5 (36 reviews). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Authoring plus delivery. Dynamic SCORM 1.2 and 2004 are on every plan. A self-contained SCORM file is a Partner add-on. Dollar prices sit on a separate page and were not captured as a figure.
Colossyan
$59/mo annual
AI video · Easy · Published price
G2 ease of use 9.1/10 (409 responses). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
AI avatar video with a published SCORM quota. Professional includes five streaming SCORM exports a month. Self-contained packages are Enterprise. Colossyan names SCORM 1.2 and 2004 LMSs.
Create (formerly Elucidat)
Quote
Browser authoring · Easy · Quote only
Software Advice ease of use 4.61/5 (28 reviews). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Collaborative browser authoring, now sold as Create by Confirm. Courses are hosted by the vendor and released to an LMS as SCORM, with xAPI described as optional. List price is not published.
Descript
No export
Not an LMS export · Easy · Uncertain price
GetApp ease of use 4.4/5 (183 reviews). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
AI-assisted editor for screen, talking-head, and podcast video. It is in this index because teams evaluate it next to avatar tools. No SCORM or xAPI export was found in published material.
dominKnow | ONE
Quote
Authoring · Easy · Quote only
GetApp ease of use 4.3/5 (24 reviews). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Enterprise authoring with more than one editing mode (responsive pages, traditional screens, and software simulation). Publishing is documented as SCORM, xAPI, AICC, and cmi5. The list price is a quote.
Easygenerator
$1,499/yr
Browser authoring · Easy · Published price
Software Advice ease of use 4.86/5 (108 reviews). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Browser authoring aimed at subject-matter experts as well as L&D. SCORM export starts on the Pro plan. xAPI is on the pricing table. cmi5 is not listed.
eXeLearning
$0
Open source · Desktop authoring · Not rated · Free license
Free, open-source desktop authoring. It has exported SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 for years and is the tool many public institutions already own. xAPI and cmi5 are not treated as settled here.
Genially
€40/member/mo
Authoring · Moderate · Published price
GetApp ease of use 4.2/5 (100 reviews). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Interactive visual authoring used for training and education. SCORM is not on the cheaper commercial plans. Education accounts get it on Edu360. Commercial accounts get it toward the top of the plan list.
Gomo
Quote
Authoring · Not rated · Quote only
Hosted, mobile-first authoring with multi-LMS delivery. Public pricing is a matrix by organization size with the dollar cells not printed on the page we read. Standards support is SCORM and xAPI.
H5P
$0 via Lumi
Open source · Not rated · Free license
Open-source interactive content types. The plugin itself does not hand you a SCORM zip. Lumi Desktop, also free, wraps H5P as SCORM 1.2 or 2004. H5P reports xAPI when the host is listening.
HeyGen
$149/mo + seats
AI video · Easy · Published price
G2 ease of use 9.3/10 (1,294 responses). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
AI avatar video. SCORM export and LMS integrations are listed on the Business plan, not on Creator or Pro. The SCORM edition is not named.
Intellum Evolve
$588/user/yr
Authoring · Not rated · Published price
Block-based authoring from Intellum. The personal plan publishes SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004. xAPI and cmi5 are not named on the product page reviewed.
isEazy Author
€0 limited / €80 mo
Authoring · Easy · Uncertain price
GetApp ease of use 4.6/5 (92 reviews). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Visual course authoring with a free tier that includes limited SCORM publishing. The FAQ names SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, and xAPI. Prices on the vendor’s cost page are in euros.
iSpring Cloud AI
$720/author/yr
Browser authoring · Not rated · Published price
Browser authoring for scrollable courses. It is the iSpring plan that runs on Mac and Windows. Export is documented as SCORM and xAPI, not cmi5.
iSpring Suite
$970/author/yr
Desktop authoring · Easy · Published price
G2 ease of use 9.1/10 (567 responses). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
PowerPoint-based Windows authoring for courses, quizzes, role-plays, and screencasts. The commercial Suite plans publish SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, xAPI, cmi5, and AICC.
Lectora
$1,549/yr
Desktop authoring · Browser authoring · Moderate · Published price
Capterra ease of use 4.0/5 (63 reviews). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Desktop and browser authoring sold inside ELB’s Studio Gold Suite. Publishing is documented across SCORM, AICC, xAPI, and cmi5, which is why regulated teams still shortlist it.
Mindsmith
$0 (badge)
Authoring · Not rated · Free license
AI-assisted lesson authoring. SCORM export is on the free plan, with a Mindsmith badge. xAPI is listed only on Enterprise. Removing the badge is a paid plan, not a standards plan.
Parta.io
$600/yr
Browser authoring · Not rated · Published price
Browser authoring with branding controls and a SCORM export on the published Solo plan. Dynamic SCORM is reserved for the quote-based CMS plan. The SCORM edition is not stated.
ScormStack
$5/author/mo
Authoring · Not rated · Published price
A course builder organized around SCORM export. Basic includes a monthly cap of SCORM 1.2 and 2004 packages. Pro removes the cap and adds dynamic SCORM.
Synthesia
Enterprise quote
AI video · Easy · Quote only
G2 ease of use 9.1/10 (2,215 responses). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
AI avatar video. Self-serve plans download MP4. SCORM export is described as an Enterprise feature with custom pricing. The SCORM edition is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Vyond
Unverified
AI video · Easy · Uncertain price
G2 ease of use 9.2/10 (321 responses). Checked 16 Oct 2026.
Animated character video used for scenario training. SCORM export exists. Two September 2026 sources disagree on whether it starts on Starter or only on Enterprise.