SCORM Check

Index/Comparisons/Articulate Storyline 360 vs Camtasia

Side by side · records checked 16 Oct 2026

Articulate Storyline 360 vs Camtasia

Windows desktop authoring for custom interactions, software simulations, and graded questions. On the current price list it is part of Articulate 360 AI, not a separate SKU. Screen recorder and editor. Quizzes and SCORM export are on the Essentials plan, not the watermarked Starter plan. TechSmith says scores can reach an LMS gradebook. The SCORM edition is not named.

Both columns are the current index fields. The page does not score a winner. Labels are defined on the method page.

Standards, plans, and evidence

SCORM 1.2

Articulate Storyline 360

Yes

Articulate 360 AI Personal ($1,449/seat/year) or Teams ($1,749/seat/year)

Claimed

The pricing page says packages export as SCORM, xAPI, or cmi5. It does not name SCORM 1.2 versus 2004. Storyline’s publish dialog has historically offered SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 2nd, 3rd, and 4th editions. Confirm the edition list in the current dialog before you standardize on one.

Camtasia

Partial

Camtasia Essentials ($179.88/year) or higher

Claimed

The store says “Quizzes and SCORM export.” The LMS tutorial says a SCORM package can report quiz responses and raw scores to the gradebook. Neither page names SCORM 1.2 or 2004.

SCORM 2004

Articulate Storyline 360

Yes

Articulate 360 AI Personal or Teams

Claimed

Same publish path as SCORM 1.2. The Oct 2026 marketing page says “SCORM” without an edition. Treat 2004 as vendor-documented from Articulate’s long-standing publish options, and confirm the edition in-product.

Camtasia

Partial

Camtasia Essentials or higher

Claimed

Edition not stated. Do not promise a 2004 manifest until you export one and read it.

xAPI (Tin Can)

Articulate Storyline 360

Yes

Articulate 360 AI Personal or Teams

Claimed

LMS publishing on Articulate 360 AI is documented as SCORM, xAPI, or cmi5. Frontline does not include it.

Camtasia

Unclear

No plan named

Unverified

xAPI is not mentioned in the store row or the LMS tutorial reviewed.

cmi5

Articulate Storyline 360

Yes

Articulate 360 AI Personal or Teams

Claimed

cmi5 is named on the pricing comparison (“SCORM, xAPI, or cmi5”) and on Articulate’s flexible-publishing page, which also names AICC.

Camtasia

Unclear

No plan named

Unverified

cmi5 is not mentioned.

Price

Articulate Storyline 360

$1,449 per seat / year

Published list price · $1,449/seat/yr

Articulate’s pricing page (read 16 Oct 2026) lists Articulate 360 AI Personal at $1,449 per seat per year and Teams at $1,749 per seat per year. Both include Storyline, Rise, and LMS publishing. Frontline starts at $500 per year for unlimited seats and does not include Storyline or LMS publishing. Older “Rise-only” prices are not on that page.

  • Frontline is an Articulate product and does not export SCORM, xAPI, or cmi5.
  • Reach, Articulate’s own LMS, is described as included on Teams (300 active learners), not as a substitute for checking your LMS.

Camtasia

$179.88 / year (Essentials)

Published list price · $179.88/yr

TechSmith’s store lists Starter at $39 per year (Camtasia Editor watermarked, no SCORM), Essentials at $179.88 per year with quizzes and SCORM export, and Pro at $599 per year. The comparison also shows a Create column between Essentials and Pro; Essentials is the first row that includes unwatermarked quizzes and SCORM.

  • Starter at $39 is the wrong plan for an unwatermarked SCORM quiz.
  • An MP4 upload into Moodle will not report the quiz. The SCORM zip is the package that carries the score.

Articulate Storyline 360 sources

Record updated 16 Oct 2026. Export answer.

Camtasia sources

Record updated 16 Oct 2026. Export answer.

Questions this page can answer

Do Articulate Storyline 360 and Camtasia export SCORM 1.2?
Articulate Storyline 360 — SCORM 1.2 is Yes (claimed). Plan named here: Articulate 360 AI Personal ($1,449/seat/year) or Teams ($1,749/seat/year). The pricing page says packages export as SCORM, xAPI, or cmi5. It does not name SCORM 1.2 versus 2004. Storyline’s publish dialog has historically offered SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 2nd, 3rd, and 4th editions. Confirm the edition list in the current dialog before you standardize on one. Camtasia — SCORM 1.2 is Partial (claimed). Plan named here: Camtasia Essentials ($179.88/year) or higher. The store says “Quizzes and SCORM export.” The LMS tutorial says a SCORM package can report quiz responses and raw scores to the gradebook. Neither page names SCORM 1.2 or 2004.
Do Articulate Storyline 360 and Camtasia export SCORM 2004?
Articulate Storyline 360 — SCORM 2004 is Yes (claimed). Plan named here: Articulate 360 AI Personal or Teams. Same publish path as SCORM 1.2. The Oct 2026 marketing page says “SCORM” without an edition. Treat 2004 as vendor-documented from Articulate’s long-standing publish options, and confirm the edition in-product. Camtasia — SCORM 2004 is Partial (claimed). Plan named here: Camtasia Essentials or higher. Edition not stated. Do not promise a 2004 manifest until you export one and read it.
Do Articulate Storyline 360 and Camtasia export xAPI (Tin Can)?
Articulate Storyline 360 — xAPI (Tin Can) is Yes (claimed). Plan named here: Articulate 360 AI Personal or Teams. LMS publishing on Articulate 360 AI is documented as SCORM, xAPI, or cmi5. Frontline does not include it. Camtasia — xAPI (Tin Can) is Unclear (unverified). No plan is named for this standard. xAPI is not mentioned in the store row or the LMS tutorial reviewed.
Do Articulate Storyline 360 and Camtasia export cmi5?
Articulate Storyline 360 — cmi5 is Yes (claimed). Plan named here: Articulate 360 AI Personal or Teams. cmi5 is named on the pricing comparison (“SCORM, xAPI, or cmi5”) and on Articulate’s flexible-publishing page, which also names AICC. Camtasia — cmi5 is Unclear (unverified). No plan is named for this standard. cmi5 is not mentioned.
What prices does this index list for Articulate Storyline 360 and Camtasia?
Articulate Storyline 360 is listed at $1,449 per seat / year. Confidence: Published list price. The index table uses “$1,449/seat/yr”. Articulate’s pricing page (read 16 Oct 2026) lists Articulate 360 AI Personal at $1,449 per seat per year and Teams at $1,749 per seat per year. Both include Storyline, Rise, and LMS publishing. Frontline starts at $500 per year for unlimited seats and does not include Storyline or LMS publishing. Older “Rise-only” prices are not on that page. Camtasia is listed at $179.88 / year (Essentials). Confidence: Published list price. The index table uses “$179.88/yr”. TechSmith’s store lists Starter at $39 per year (Camtasia Editor watermarked, no SCORM), Essentials at $179.88 per year with quizzes and SCORM export, and Pro at $599 per year. The comparison also shows a Create column between Essentials and Pro; Essentials is the first row that includes unwatermarked quizzes and SCORM. The index lists both figures and does not convert currencies or choose a cheaper plan.

Does Articulate Storyline 360 export SCORM?·Does Camtasia export SCORM?