SCORM Check

Index/Comparisons/Camtasia vs ActivePresenter

Side by side · records checked 16 Oct 2026

Camtasia vs ActivePresenter

Screen recorder and editor. Quizzes and SCORM export are on the Essentials plan, not the watermarked Starter plan. TechSmith says scores can reach an LMS gradebook. The SCORM edition is not named. Perpetual-license screen recorder and authoring tool. Standard and Pro both list SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, and xAPI. The price is one-time, per machine.

Both columns are the current index fields. The page does not score a winner. Labels are defined on the method page.

Standards, plans, and evidence

SCORM 1.2

Camtasia

Partial

Camtasia Essentials ($179.88/year) or higher

Claimed

The store says “Quizzes and SCORM export.” The LMS tutorial says a SCORM package can report quiz responses and raw scores to the gradebook. Neither page names SCORM 1.2 or 2004.

ActivePresenter

Yes

ActivePresenter Standard ($249 one-time) or Pro ($499)

Claimed

The pricing page lists “Export to SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, and xAPI (Tin Can API)” on Standard and on Pro.

SCORM 2004

Camtasia

Partial

Camtasia Essentials or higher

Claimed

Edition not stated. Do not promise a 2004 manifest until you export one and read it.

ActivePresenter

Yes

Standard or Pro

Claimed

Named on both paid editions.

xAPI (Tin Can)

Camtasia

Unclear

No plan named

Unverified

xAPI is not mentioned in the store row or the LMS tutorial reviewed.

ActivePresenter

Yes

Standard or Pro

Claimed

Named on both paid editions.

cmi5

Camtasia

Unclear

No plan named

Unverified

cmi5 is not mentioned.

ActivePresenter

Unclear

No plan named

Unverified

cmi5 is not in the export line on the pricing page.

Price

Camtasia

$179.88 / year (Essentials)

Published list price · $179.88/yr

TechSmith’s store lists Starter at $39 per year (Camtasia Editor watermarked, no SCORM), Essentials at $179.88 per year with quizzes and SCORM export, and Pro at $599 per year. The comparison also shows a Create column between Essentials and Pro; Essentials is the first row that includes unwatermarked quizzes and SCORM.

  • Starter at $39 is the wrong plan for an unwatermarked SCORM quiz.
  • An MP4 upload into Moodle will not report the quiz. The SCORM zip is the package that carries the score.

ActivePresenter

$249 / license, one-time

Published list price · $249 once

Standard is $249 per license. Pro is $499 per license. Both lists include export to SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, and xAPI, plus HTML5 and video. The license is perpetual and per machine, with one year of major-version upgrades included. AI tools spend a separate credit balance.

  • A free evaluation build exists. The pricing page attaches SCORM to Standard and Pro, not to a free tier. Do not assume the free build exports a package.
  • One license, one machine at a time.

Camtasia sources

Record updated 16 Oct 2026. Export answer.

ActivePresenter sources

Record updated 16 Oct 2026. Export answer.

Questions this page can answer

Do Camtasia and ActivePresenter export SCORM 1.2?
Camtasia — SCORM 1.2 is Partial (claimed). Plan named here: Camtasia Essentials ($179.88/year) or higher. The store says “Quizzes and SCORM export.” The LMS tutorial says a SCORM package can report quiz responses and raw scores to the gradebook. Neither page names SCORM 1.2 or 2004. ActivePresenter — SCORM 1.2 is Yes (claimed). Plan named here: ActivePresenter Standard ($249 one-time) or Pro ($499). The pricing page lists “Export to SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, and xAPI (Tin Can API)” on Standard and on Pro.
Do Camtasia and ActivePresenter export SCORM 2004?
Camtasia — SCORM 2004 is Partial (claimed). Plan named here: Camtasia Essentials or higher. Edition not stated. Do not promise a 2004 manifest until you export one and read it. ActivePresenter — SCORM 2004 is Yes (claimed). Plan named here: Standard or Pro. Named on both paid editions.
Do Camtasia and ActivePresenter export xAPI (Tin Can)?
Camtasia — xAPI (Tin Can) is Unclear (unverified). No plan is named for this standard. xAPI is not mentioned in the store row or the LMS tutorial reviewed. ActivePresenter — xAPI (Tin Can) is Yes (claimed). Plan named here: Standard or Pro. Named on both paid editions.
Do Camtasia and ActivePresenter export cmi5?
Camtasia — cmi5 is Unclear (unverified). No plan is named for this standard. cmi5 is not mentioned. ActivePresenter — cmi5 is Unclear (unverified). No plan is named for this standard. cmi5 is not in the export line on the pricing page.
What prices does this index list for Camtasia and ActivePresenter?
Camtasia is listed at $179.88 / year (Essentials). Confidence: Published list price. The index table uses “$179.88/yr”. TechSmith’s store lists Starter at $39 per year (Camtasia Editor watermarked, no SCORM), Essentials at $179.88 per year with quizzes and SCORM export, and Pro at $599 per year. The comparison also shows a Create column between Essentials and Pro; Essentials is the first row that includes unwatermarked quizzes and SCORM. ActivePresenter is listed at $249 / license, one-time. Confidence: Published list price. The index table uses “$249 once”. Standard is $249 per license. Pro is $499 per license. Both lists include export to SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, and xAPI, plus HTML5 and video. The license is perpetual and per machine, with one year of major-version upgrades included. AI tools spend a separate credit balance. The index lists both figures and does not convert currencies or choose a cheaper plan.

Does Camtasia export SCORM?·Does ActivePresenter export SCORM?